Skip to content

Bánh Mì Maniac

Divine Consumption

N Tran Shopfront263 Chapel Street, Prahran

Price: $7.00
Filling: 4/5 (BBQ Chicken)
Dressing/Salad: 2.5/3
Bread: 1.5/2
Total: 80%

N Tran RollI have to get something out of the way. I’ve been putting off a visit to N Tran for sometime. Why? Walk in, look at the menu, at the prices. This is too expensive for bánh mì in comparison to other Vietnamese bakeries in Melbourne. And it is a successful place, a lot of customers – the prices could definitely be lowered. Also, I don’t want tomato or beetroot in my salad, please. N Tran automatically serve westernised ingredients, so be assertive when ordering. Now, after saying I wanted Vietnamese salad, I was charged 30 cents for coriander. Not good, not at all.

N Tran very nearly make up for the frustration I had prior to biting into my bánh mì. It is what you expect a good quality salad roll to be, which the front window claims the place is famous for. The untraditional sesame seed roll was the best I’ve had outside N.Lee and the salad inside very fresh. BBQ Chicken is a tad soft, but otherwise tasty, dampened by too much salt from the dressing. If I could regularly drop $7 for lunch, I would, at N Tran.

N Tran on Urbanspoon

Tags: , , , , , ,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

