BM#5 – Nguyen Hot Bread

128 Chapel St, Windsor

UPDATED RATING
Price:
$6.20
Filling:
4/5 (BBQ Chicken)
Dressing/Salad:
2/3
Bread:
1/2
Total:
7/10

UPDATED REVIEW
Okay, when I originally reviewed Nguyen’s Hot Bread, I was fairly inexperienced and hadn’t yet been to many bakeries throughout the city. I went back recently and wasn’t as blown away as my first visit.

Bánh mì is still nice here. The BBQ chicken that I ordered was tasty enough, but not as moist as it could be, especially at peak service time. An alternative, roast pork with crackling, is usually quite good, though both are over six dollars which is borderline too expensive. Serves are generous and pâté is offered, but a lack of soy or salt and pepper really harms the overall combination. Nguyen’s is good without being great.

Nguyen's Hotbread on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “BM#5 – Nguyen Hot Bread

  1. Hey, I noticed that you said that Nguyen hot bread does not have salt and pepper or soy sauce, I know that they do as I just ate a banh mi with those on it. Also just thought I’d let you know you need to try Bun Bun Bakery in Springvale. I eat a lot of Banh mi and feel that it is the best in Melbourne.

    Like

    1. They must not have put much on the time I went of whatever reason. Yeah, Bun Bun has a lot of followers. I had a bite of one once when I was in the area but I was already too full on soup to get one myself. In that one bite I knew it was good. I’ll get a review up the next time I visit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

